Our mission is to help homeless and low-income families achieve sustainable independence through a community based response.


Our vision is a community in which every family has a home, a livelihood, and the chance to build a better future.

Our Story

Family Promise of Linn County began in 2010 as an idea for how local faith communities could come together to help our neighbors in need. Cedar Rapids and the surrounding area was still reeling from the effects of the 2008 flood and homelessness was on the rise.

A volunteer team worked tirelessly — with the guidance of the national office for Family Promise — to make Family Promise of Linn County a reality. We began serving families in January of 2013. In the first three years of operation alone, 61 families, including over 100 children were cared for and lifted up on their paths to achieve sustainable independence. 

Teaming with the faith community, Family Promise provides warm and welcoming place for families to call home while they get back on their feet and into stable housing. A centrally located Day Center provides showers, laundry and a place for parents to look for jobs and housing. A dedicated board of directors oversees and manages the program, providing support to its staff. We have the capacity to serve up to three families at a time in our shelter program.

Our Program Director - Kimberly Jacobson

Kimberly began as the Family Promise Director in December of 2020.  She has a B.A. in Psychology from the University of Minnesota and is currently working toward her Master’s in Counseling and Psychological Services through St. Mary’s University of Minnesota.  She has 20+ years of experience working in the human service and non-profit fields.  Her past roles included both direct service, providing parent support, family mediation, crisis counseling and service team coordination; as well as working as a program coordinator and program supervisor.  Kimberly is new to Grant County and has lived in Montfort since the summer of 2020.

Board of Directors

  • Bev Doll


  • Rod Slaght

    Vice President

  • Fred A. Naatz

    Past President

  • Stacy Martin


  • Tim Zauche


  • Lynn Knutson

  • Joanne Beraldi

  • Gail Steiner

  • John Harrison

  • Kathleen Schink

  • Barb Cook

You may run into some issues browsing this website using internet explorer, as this website is built using modern web standards. For more information, please read this blog post written by Microsoft in February of 2019: The perils of using Internet Explorer as your default browser. For the best experience, please upgrade to use a modern browser, such as Google Chrome.